Emerging and established Irish whiskey producers and patrons were honoured this year at the 2021 Irish Whiskey Awards which took place at the Powerscourt Distillery in Co. Wicklow. The evening commenced with a tour of the distillery and a drinks reception hosted by the Powerscourt Distillery co-founders and team. Keynote speaker, Jack Teeling, Founder and Manager for Teeling Whiskey presented the awards, which are now in their eighth year and span over 12 categories.

Judging of this year’s awards took place earlier this Summer where organisers, Celtic Whiskey, posted out several hundred, blind tasting packs to members of the Celtic Whiskey Club, Irish Whiskey Society – Dublin and Dingle, Cork Whiskey Society, Waterford Whiskey Society, Kilkenny Whiskey Guild, Ennis Whiskey Club, 1875 Whiskey Club and Belfast Whiskey Club. 


The Judges:

The Verifiers:

All results were been audited and verified by Serghios Florides, Owner and Editor-in-Chief of Irish Whiskey Magazine and William Lavelle from the Irish Whiskey Association.

Serghios Florides, founder of the Irish Whiskey Magazine
William Lavelle of the Irish Whiskey Association

The Results Are In…

Overall Winner 2021:

Celtic Cask 1999 Tríocha a Cúig 35

This double distilled whiskey was initially matured in a first fill bourbon cask for 18 years before being partly decanted in March 2018 for a further period of maturation in an old 125 litre solera sherry cask that previously matured oloroso sherry.

Single Pot Still 11Yrs and Under:

WINNER: Method & Madness Single Pot Still French Chestnut

Gold: Busker Single Pot Still

Gold: Teeling Single Pot Still

Single Pot Still 12 Year+:

WINNER: Powers John’s Lane

Gold: Redbreast 12 Year Old

Blended Limited Release:

WINNER: Writers’ Tears Inniskillin Ice Wine Cask Finish

Gold: Dubliner Old Fashioned Beer Cask

Gold: Eiregold Special Reserve

Blended No Age Statement:

WINNER: Jameson Black Barrel

Gold: Sailors Home The Journey

Gold: The Irishman Founder’s Reserve Rum Finish

Blended With Age Statement:

WINNER: Jameson Bow Street 18 Year Old Cask Strength

Gold: Pearse Lyons 7 Year Old Distillers Choice

Gold: Tullamore DEW 12 Year Old


Single Malt 11 and Under

WINNER: The Irishman Single Malt Marsala Cask Finish

Gold: Writers Tears Red Head

Gold: Jack Ryan Haddington

Single Malt 12-15 Years Old

WINNER: Gelston’s 15-Year-Old Sherry Cask

Gold: Method & Madness Single Malt

Gold: The Irishman 12-Year-Old Single Malt

Single Malt 16 Years and Over:

WINNER: The Irishman 17-Year-Old Single Malt

Gold: Tullamore DEW 18-Year-Old

Gold: Dublin Liberties Keepers Coin Batch 2

Single Grain:

Winner: Teeling Single Grain (Vintage 13YO)

Gold: The Bridge Bethlehem Release

Gold: Method & Madness Single Grain

Single Cask:

WINNER: Celtic Cask Tríocha a Cúig 1999 Vintage

Gold: Dunvilles 18-Year-Old Cask 989

Gold: The Irishman Peated Red Ale Cask

Cask Strength:

WINNER: Dunvilles 12-Year-Old PX Cask Strength

Gold: Redbreast 27-Year-Old

Gold: Writers’ Tears Cask Strength 2021

New Irish Whiskey:

WINNER: Shortcross Single Malt

Gold: Connacht Whiskey Single Malt

Gold: Teeling Black Pitts